Waiting for Agnes

Just another WordPress.com site

Unspeakable August 9, 2010

Filed under: Parenting,Politics — titchandboofer @ 1:48 pm
Tags: ,

I don’t know why I am so naive. Naive enough that I can still be shocked by people like Wendy Francis.

This politician is Family First’s lead senate candidate in Queensland and in her view:

“Children in homosexual relationships are subject to emotional abuse. Legitimising gay marriage is like legalising child abuse”.

She also described gay parents as ‘surrogates’; expressed her belief that the children of gay couples will be a ‘parentless’ generation; described gay couples having children as a ‘social experiment’; stated that Australia would ‘never recover’ from legalising gay marriage; that this ‘parentless’ generation will have uncontrollable problems with suicide and depression and no sense of right and wrong; and went on to align the children of gay couples with the stolen generation.

Then she said she isn’t homophobic.

I have never met Wendy Francis and am never likely to. I am still unspeakably hurt by her comments.

I held my son tonight, rocking him to sleep, hurting to think that there is even just one person who accuses me of abusing my child. I watched my partner kiss our son goodnight as she left for work tonight, knowing how much it makes her ache to leave him, and I bristle to think that Wendy Francis would accuse her of abuse.

This is not okay. This is not just an opinion to brush aside. It is an accusation. It is public vilification.

I am not just hurt. I am angry. I am lodging a complaint.

http://www.adcq.qld.gov.au/main/complaints_inclvideo.html

 

2 Responses to “Unspeakable”

  1. Thank you very much for sharing this. I have subscribed to your RSS feed. Please keep up the good work.

  2. Annie Says:

    How sad that this woman is allowed to publicly express her disgusting and unfounded opinions on this issue. Children will grow into strong, healthy, intelligent and independent adults if they are cared for by parents/guardians who love, support and educate them. The sexual orientation of these people has absolutely nothing to do with it and I think this is proved by all the children out there who are being abused and/or neglected by their heterosexual parents. You ladies are the best mothers that little boy could have and you should never forget that. X


Leave a Reply

